Study Details

Europe's largest scientifically based multi-project management study!

Nowadays projects compete for scarce resources and have become more complex. Thus, managing projects require a holistic view of the project landscape of an organization. The two departments of Technology and Innovation Management at the Technical Universities Berlin and Darmstadt explore in close partnership with organizations managerial critical success factors in project landscapes.

For more than ten years, the research group Multi-Project Management (MPM), initiated by the professors Hans Georg Gemünden (Norwegian Business School, former TU Berlin)

and Alexander Kock (TU Darmstadt), evaluated best practices and success factors in project portfolio management through benchmarking studies. In the past seven study waves, more than 600 companies have participated, with a common portfolio value of more than € 150 billion. The analysis of more than 70,000 detailed answers culminated date in more than 30 scientific publications and eight successful dissertations. The analysis paves the way for efficient and effective multi-project management.

The study

Regular cycle

Every two years, we offer the opportunity to measure and anonymously compare your MPM performance through our benchmarking study. Die nächste Studie startet bereits Anfang 2020. By participating in the study you will receive an individual comparison mit der größten MPM-Datenbasis Europas und einem company-specific feedback report to your MPM performance. Secure your study participation and register online using our registration form.

Schedule

After your registration via our registration form we will send you personalized links by e-mail to participate in our survey. You will then have 4 to 6 weeks to fill out the survey online. The survey takes about 4 months. Subsequently, we evaluate the results, create your individual final report and send it to you by e-mail. Finally we invite you to join us at 05. and 06. March 2020 for the MPM User Conference in Darmstadt. There you can expect the presentation of the study results, inspiring practical lectures as well as the exchange with other study participants about best practices and current trends in multi-project management.

Goals

Determine and display “best practices”

Comparison of participating companies with

top and low performers.

Representation of current trends and developments within the field of multi-project management

Comparison and interpretation of the results with previous studies

Analysis of success factors across all phases of project portfolio management


Target Group

Our benchmarking studies target large- and medium-sized enterprises that manage at least 20 projects parallel and therefore face the challenges of multi-project management.

´`

Our practice partner are Project Portfolio Coordinators, e.g. Multi-Project Managers, Portfolio Managers, Program Managers and Project Management Offices (PMO) and Portfolio Decision Makers, e.g. from board, business, divisional and departmental management.

Added value as a participant

Individual feedback report

with comparision of your MPM performance with top and low performers level

Evaluating the MPM performance development

in comparison with participation in previous MPM studies (only with previous participation)

Final report of the study

with critical success factors and recommendations for action for a successful MPM

A scientifically proven questionnaire

for further internal evaluation

Guaranteed attendence

to the MPM conference to a reduced price

The Study is free of charge for participating companies

as the study is financed by research funds

Your Contribution as a Participant

You receive three questionnaires that should be filled out from different people:

Project Portfolio Decision-Makers

The target group is the senior management that makes decisions regarding the selection, prioritization, or cancellation of projects. A decision maker questionnaire must be completed for each portfolio. The time required to complete the questionnaire is approx. 25 minutes.

Project Portfolio Coordinator

The target group are people who have a very good overview of the multi-project management in their company. A coordinator questionnaire is required for each portfolio. The time required to complete the questionnaire is approx. 60 minutes.

Project Managers

The target group are project managers, who ideally have several years of experience within the company. Any number of questionnaires can be processed per portfolio. The time required for processing the questionnaires is approx. 20 minutes.

Dieser Fragebogen ist optional.

Excerpt from the participants of previous studies

3M ESPE | ABB | Airbus | AXA | Axel Springer SE | Bayer | Beiersdorf | BeOne Hamburg GmbH | Biotronik | BMW | Bombardier | Bosch Rexroth AG | Bundesagentur für Arbeit Nürnberg | Bundesamt für Landestopografie swisstopo | Citibank | Claas | Coca-Cola | Continental | Daimler | DAK | Deutsche Bahn | Deutsche Bank | DFS | Deutsche Lufthansa | Deutsche Telekom | Dr. Acel & Partner AG | DZ Bank AG | E.ON | E.R. Capital Holding GmbH | Evonik | F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd | Federal-Mogul Sealing System GmbH | Flughafen Zürich AG | Giesecke&Devrient | Gothaer Versicherung | GPM Deutsche Gesellschaft für Projektmanagement e.V. | Hamburger Sparkasse | Harting Electronics GmbH & Co. KG Heidelberger Druckmaschinen AG | Helbako GmbH | Helsana | Henkel | HP | Hochtief | Huber Suhner AG | HUK-Coburg | Investitionsbank Berlin | Inselspital Bern | KfW Bankengruppe | Kistler Instrumente AG | KKH-Kaufmännische Krankenkasse | Krankenhaus der Barmherzigen Brüder Trier | LogicX GmbH | Lufthansa Cargo AG | MAN | Mann + Hummel | Media-Saturn Holding GmbH | Motorola | Novartis O2 | Otto Bock | Paul Hettich | Parexel | PepsiCo Deutschland GmbH | Putzmeister | Robert Bosch | RWE | SAP | SBB | Schaeffler | Schreiner Group | Siemens | skyguide | STADA Arzneimittel AG | Stadtsparkasse München | Standard Life Versicherungen | SV Sparkassenversicherung | Swissport International Ltd. International | Symrise AG | TARGOBANK AG & Co. KGaA | Thurgauer Kantonalbank | Thyssen Krupp | Trumpf | Union Investment | Vattenfall | Volkswagen | WILO SE | Wittenstein | Zurich Group | Zürcher Kantonalbank uvm.

en_USEnglish
de_DEDeutsch en_USEnglish

Details zur Studie

Europas größte, wissenschaftlich fundierte Multiprojektmanagement Studie!

Projekte stehen heute unweigerlich im Wettbewerb um Ressourcen und weisen komplexe inhaltliche und zeitliche Abhängigkeiten auf. Daraus sind Managementaufgaben entstanden, die eine ganzheitliche Betrachtung der Projektlandschaft eines Unternehmens erfordern. Die Fachgebiete für Technologie- und Innovationsmanagement der Technischen Universitäten Berlin und Darmstadt erforschen in enger Kooperation mit der Praxis die kritischen Erfolgsfaktoren des Managements von Projektlandschaften.

Seit über zehn Jahren erhebt die Forschungsgruppe Multiprojektmanagement (MPM) der Professoren Hans Georg Gemünden (Norwegian Business School, ehemals an der TU Berlin)

und Alexander Kock (TU Darmstadt) im Rahmen regelmäßiger Benchmarking-Studien Best Practices und Erfolgsfaktoren im Projektportfoliomanagement. In den vergangenen sieben Benchmarking-Studien sind über 700 Unternehmen mit einem gemeinsamen Portfoliovolumen von mehr als 150 Mrd. € betrachtet worden. Die Analyse der über 70.000 detaillierten Antworten mündete bis heute in über 30 wissenschaftlichen Publikationen und acht erfolgreichen Dissertationen. In den Befunden finden sich Stellschrauben zur Gestaltung eines effizienteren und effektiveren Multiprojektmanagements in der Zukunft.

Ablauf der Studie

Regelmäßiger Turnus

Im Turnus von zwei Jahren bieten wir Ihnen die Gelegenheit durch unsere Benchmarking-Studie regelmäßig Ihre MPM-Leistungsfähigkeit zu messen und anonymisiert zu vergleichen. Die nächste Studie startet bereits Anfang 2020. Durch die Teilnahme an der Studie erhalten Sie einen individuellen Vergleich mit der größten MPM-Datenbasis Europas und einem unternehmensspezifischen Feedback-Bericht zu Ihrer MPM-Leistungsfähigkeit. Sichern Sie sich Ihre Studienteilnahme und melden Sie sich online über unser Anmeldeformular an.

Zeitlicher Ablauf

Nach Ihrer Anmeldung über unser Anmeldeformular schicken wir Ihnen per Mail personalisierte Links zur Teilnahme an unserer Erhebung zu. Daraufhin haben Sie 4 bis 6 Wochen Zeit die Umfrage online auszufüllen. Die Studienerhebung dauert insgesamt circa 4 Monate. Im Anschluss werten wir die Ergebnisse aus, erstellen Ihren individuellen Abschlussbericht und senden Ihnen diesen per Mail zu. Abschließend laden wir Sie am 05. und 06. März 2020 zur MPM-Anwendertagung nach Darmstadt ein. Dort erwarten Sie die Präsentation der Studienergebnisse, inspirierende Praxisvorträge sowie der Austausch mit anderen Studienteilnehmern über Best Practices und aktuellen Trends im Multiprojektmanagement.

Zielsetzung

Ermitteln und Aufzeigen von „Best Practices“

Vergleich der teilnehmenden Unternehmen mit

Top- und Low-Performern

Darstellung aktueller Trends und Entwicklungen im Multiprojektmanagement

Vergleich und Interpretation der Ergebnisse mit vergangenen Studien

Analyse der Erfolgsfaktoren über alle Phasen des Projektportfoliomanagements


Zielgruppe

An unseren Benchmarking-Studien können Groß- und Mittelstandsunternehmen, die sich den Herausforderungen des Multiprojektmanagements gegenübergestellt sehen und mindestens 20

Projekte parallel zu managen haben, teilnehmen.

Adressaten sind Projektportfolio-Koordinatoren wie Multiprojekt-Manager, Portfolio-Manager, Programm-Manager, Verantwortliche des Project Management Office (PMO) und Portfolio-Entscheider aus Vorstand, Geschäfts-, Bereichs- und Abteilungsleitung.

Ihr Mehrwert als Studienteilnehmer

Individueller Feedback-Bericht

mit Vergleichsdarstellung der MPM-Leistung zu Top- und Low-Performern sowie branchen- und portfoliospezifischen Auswertungen

Auswertung der MPM-Leistungsentwicklung

im Vergleich mit der Teilnahme an vorherigen MPM-Studien (nur bei vorheriger Teilnahme)

Abschlussbericht der Studie

mit kritischen Erfolgsfaktoren und Handlungsempfehlungen für ein erfolgreiches MPM

Ein wissenschaftlich erprobter Fragebogen

zur weiteren internen Evaluierung

Garantierte Teilnahme

an der Anwendertagung zu einem reduzierten Preis

Studie für teilnehmende Unternehmen kostenlos

da die Studie aus Forschungsmitteln finanziert wird

Ihr Beitrag als Studienteilnehmer

Sie erhalten von uns den Zugang zu drei unterschiedlichen Fragebögen, die von verschiedenen Personengruppen komfortabel online auszufüllen sind:

Entscheider-Fragebogen

Die Zielgruppe ist das höhere Management, das Entscheidungen zur Projektauswahl, Verschiebung oder Abbruch trifft. Pro Portfolio ist die Bearbeitung eines Entscheider-Fragebogens erforderlich. Der Zeit-aufwand zur Bearbeitung beträgt ca. 25 Minuten.

Koordinator-Fragebogen

Zielgruppe sind Personen, die als Koordinator im Unternehmen einen sehr guten Überblick über das Multiprojektmanagement besitzen. Pro Portfolio ist die Bearbeitung eines Koordinator-Fragebogens erforderlich. Der Zeitaufwand zur Bearbeitung beträgt ca. 60 Minuten.

Projektleiter-Fragebogen

Zielgruppe sind Projektleiter des Unternehmensportfolios, die idealerweise eine mehrjährige Erfahrung im Unternehmen haben. Pro Portfolio können beliebig viele Projektleiter-Fragebögen bearbeitet werden. Der Zeitaufwand zur Bearbeitung beträgt ca. 20 Minuten.

Dieser Fragebogen ist optional.

Auszug aus dem Teilnehmerkreis früherer Studien

3M ESPE | ABB | Airbus | AXA | Axel Springer SE | Bayer | Beiersdorf | BeOne Hamburg GmbH | Biotronik | BMW | Bombardier | Bosch Rexroth AG | Bundesagentur für Arbeit Nürnberg | Bundesamt für Landestopografie swisstopo | Citibank | Claas | Coca-Cola | Continental | Daimler | DAK | Deutsche Bahn | Deutsche Bank | DFS | Deutsche Lufthansa | Deutsche Telekom | Dr. Acel & Partner AG | DZ Bank AG | E.ON | E.R. Capital Holding GmbH | Evonik | F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd | Federal-Mogul Sealing System GmbH | Flughafen Zürich AG | Giesecke&Devrient | Gothaer Versicherung | GPM Deutsche Gesellschaft für Projektmanagement e.V. | Hamburger Sparkasse | Harting Electronics GmbH & Co. KG Heidelberger Druckmaschinen AG | Helbako GmbH | Helsana | Henkel | HP | Hochtief | Huber Suhner AG | HUK-Coburg | Investitionsbank Berlin | Inselspital Bern | KfW Bankengruppe | Kistler Instrumente AG | KKH-Kaufmännische Krankenkasse | Krankenhaus der Barmherzigen Brüder Trier | LogicX GmbH | Lufthansa Cargo AG | MAN | Mann + Hummel | Media-Saturn Holding GmbH | Motorola | Novartis O2 | Otto Bock | Paul Hettich | Parexel | PepsiCo Deutschland GmbH | Putzmeister | Robert Bosch | RWE | SAP | SBB | Schaeffler | Schreiner Group | Siemens | skyguide | STADA Arzneimittel AG | Stadtsparkasse München | Standard Life Versicherungen | SV Sparkassenversicherung | Swissport International Ltd. International | Symrise AG | TARGOBANK AG & Co. KGaA | Thurgauer Kantonalbank | Thyssen Krupp | Trumpf | Union Investment | Vattenfall | Volkswagen | WILO SE | Wittenstein | Zurich Group | Zürcher Kantonalbank uvm.

de_DEDeutsch
en_USEnglish de_DEDeutsch